Feverishly finishing

Today I’m doing something a little different and writing a post based on a writing prompt; today that writing prompt is a single word: Burn

When I saw the word burn I thought hot, fever and from that speed. I think the reason I thought this was that my last week has been spent feverishly crocheting to finish a baby blanket with a strict deadline. I have a baby shower tomorrow for a close friend of mine and I really really wanted it to be ready on time. I think the gift loses some impact if presented at the wrong time and becomes a bit less special, at least to me.

IMAG0165

This probably isn’t the best baby blanket I’ve ever made but it holds a special place for me. This is the first time I’ve ever tried to appliqué and the appliqués I’ve chosen are sentimental for me and my dear friend receiving the blanket. The road was not easy for this blanket; creating the right ridges, learning to appliqué, failing at creating lettering… but those are all stories for another day.

When you get into a project that you just do it every hour of the day, that you think about solving your problems as you fall asleep, when you grab every free 30 seconds here and there to do a few stitches, you become feverish. It has burned its way through your brain.

Have a lovely day, here is a picture of a Llama

llamarama-1405440

Leave a Reply

